BA Grillin’

I don’t know what it is but I just feel at home behind a grill. I guess it could be because I saw my Dad grilling when I was young. Maybe it was because Dad trusted me with the grill when I was young. Maybe just because it is good food, or it is a chance to be outside, but for whatever reason, behind the grill is a comfortable place for me.

So when I walked into a loud room full of Spanish and English speakers, and I saw someone climb out the window to a roof top grill that is where I wanted to be. David and Andreas were grilling Chorizo for about 50 people on a huge grill. They didn’t speak much English and Brian and I didn’t speak much Spanish, but still behind the grill we found a way to bond. They taught us the words we needed to know in Spanish and we taught them how to say it things in English and together we got the job done, and had a great time doing it.

Language is a barrier in communication here in Buenos Aries but it can be overcome. Common interests, and getting a job done together seems to bring people closer together. I hope that is part of the outcome of our time here in Buenos Aires. We all as followers of Jesus Christ have a common job to do. To tell people the good news that Jesus frees all who are willing from their past mistakes by offering forgiveness, and gives us the power to live a new life. I hope that in the midst of working together to tell people this great message we will grow closer to each other and to the one who made us.

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Buenos Aires and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

