Jesus v. Religion

So there was a video releases last week entitled “Why I Hate Religion, But Love Jesus” You should watch it over 14 million views already. I heard about it via, twitter, facebook, text, phone call and blog post before I got a chance to see it. My first impression was what’s the big deal.

Kevin De Young gave his critic. Personally I don’t think the word religion is worth trying to defend its meaning.

It was cool to see that the author of the video respond to Kevin and they had a good dialog.

I personally liked Tullian Tchividjian’s take on the video the best. His quote of Tim Keller was a great point and probably why I had no problem with the video from the beginning because I have read some of Keller’s books.

My take is it is no big deal. A lot of people for a long time have made the contrast between the Gospel and religion in this way. Where religion essentially means false religion. It seems fine to me to use the word that way. Also it got a lot of people to think about, what is Christianity all about? Obviously there are people who are interested in this topic. 14 million views! Lets go out and talk to people about it.

So what is your take?

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Jesus v. Religion

  1. ellzey says:

    Agreed. It got a lot of people to think about Christianity.

Leave a Reply

