Eyes Up

After I came to know Christ and chose to follow Him in college I learned something about myself. As I was reading the New Testament book of Colossians a few days ago the lesson seemed to deepen and grow. I noticed that when I was talking between classes that as I passed people on my way I would almost always look at the ground rather than keep my eyes up.

One day as I was walking while I noticed this also began to wonder why I looked down and to realized that it didn’t make any sense to look at the ground as I passed by people. It didn’t make much sense because whatever the reason why I had been changed drastically and the old reason didn’t make sense any more in light of who I was. Si I began to remind myself of who I was as I walked to class and kept my eyes up I would say, “I am a new creation (II Corinthians 5:17).” Or Reminding myself I was a child of God, the King, and I didn’t have to look down for anyone (I John 3:1). Or reminding myself that I was seated with Christ on the right hand of the throne of God (Colossians 3:1). Over time, practice on my part, and God’s grace and growth, I began to see change in how I walked on campus. I kept my eyes up. Of course any really good lesson learned is rarely a one and done. Good and deep lessons take some continual learning. At the start of this post I said that a lesson started to deepen and grow. I will post more about that later this week.

How you seen God grow you as you learned who you were in Christ?

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

