Goals and the New Year

Well last year I had a goal to post 52 blogs for the year. This post is number 20. Obviously I have fallen short. Which honestly has happened before. I have learned to give myself grace, and try again. So in 2013 my blogging goal will remain the same, 52 posts this calendar year.

I initially decided to blog for a few reasons. One my academic training is in Computers, Business and Recreation yet my current job is in ministry. I realized reading, writing and speaking are key skills I would like to develop. So to tackle the writing aspect what better way than to practice writing often and what better medium than the blog. as I approach this goal and other I have for the new year I am keeping these few thoughts in mind.

The gospel is opposed to earning, but the gospel is not opposed to effort.

Also I Corinthians 3:5-7 “What then is Apollos? What is Paul? Servants through whom you believed, as the Lord assigned to each. I planted,Apollos watered, but God gave the growth. So neither he who plants nor he who waters is anything, but only God who gives the growth.” So I approach the new year desiring to grow not to earn anything from God but to give in response to all He has given to me. My desire as a servant of God is to make much of Him who gives the growth.

Happy New Year!

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment