Reading 2012

Reading has not been a strong suit for me. as an extrovert slowing down and shutting my mouth long enough to read is a challenge. But I knew that needed to change. I had heard the phrase too many times. Readers are leaders and leaders are readers So I have attempted to slow myself down and read more. Here is what I read this past year. I am posting it for my own encouragement. All I can say is that I did better than last year.

Point Man by Steve Farrar – Some good thoughts on being a husband, father and follower of God.
Developing the Leader Within by John Maxwell – Some great thoughts on leadership that have changed the way that I think about leadership and lead others.
Cry of the Soul by Dan Allendar and Tremper Logman III- Best book I have read on emotions and there intersection with our faith in Christ and relationship with God.
Grip of Grace by Max Lucado – this was a re-read to help me to get grace again.
I reread some key chapters in several books about marriage,
Fit to be Tied by Bill Hybels,
Boundaries in Marriage by Cloud & Townsend
A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23 – Phillip Keller
A Shepherd Looks at the Good Shepherd – Phillip Keller
You Lost Me – David Kinnaman The Millennial generation and their Christian faith experience.
Forgotten God – Francis Chan on the Holy Spirit
The Pressures Off – Larry Crab – This challenged my thinking on blessings & the One who Blesses.
In the Name of Jesus by Henry Nowen – Great thoughts on ministry and spiritual leadership.
Hearing God – Dallas Willard – a challenging and intellectual read about hearing God’s voice. Glad to read one of my Dad’s favorite books and share that with him.

As I look back at this list I am surprised that I was able to read this much and thankful to God for the help and my wife Adrienne for helping me to start this newer habit for me. I am also hopeful for 2013 that I will continue this habit with the help of God, and friends.

20130107-085957.jpg

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

