Evangelism Bold and Clear

The Great commission is clear. As followers of Christ we must obey the command to “Go and make disciples of all nations.” Not just obedience but out of love for God and knowing his loving heart for those who do not yet know him (II Corinthians 5:11-21). The question is how? How do we go and make disciples of all nations?

A friend of mine Don Mansfield has helped many people in the area of how to do evangelism. His model is called “Boldness and Clarity.” It has been really helpful for me to think through his thoughts on the 2 key verses that talk about how we are to speak about the gospel.

Ephesians 5:18b-20 (emphasis mine) “To that end keep alert with all perseverance, making supplication for all the saints, 19 and also for me, that words may be given to me in opening my mouth boldly to proclaim the mystery of the gospel, 20 for which I am an ambassador in chains, that I may declare it boldly, as I ought to speak.”

Colossians 4:3-4 (emphasis mine) “At the same time, pray also for us, that God may open to us a door for the word, to declare the mystery of Christ, on account of which I am in prison— 4 that I may make it clear, which is how I ought to speak. Walk in wisdom toward outsiders, making the best use of the time. 6 Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how you ought to answer each person.”

My point today is to begin to write about evangelism. These 2 verses and Don’s thoughts have provided a great framework for me in how to speak the gospel to people. It is worth it say that obedience to the command to Go and make disciples is more important than how we share the Gospel. Like all new skills we will grow and develop over time and practice. See (Successful Witnessing)

The above principles of boldness and clarity have helped me, as have the modes of evangelism. I will begin writing on the modes next week.

What has helped you obey the great commission?

About Dan Butz

I work with Cru in Leadership Development.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

